DOCJT Announces Latest Graduates from Basic Training

RICHMOND, Ky. – Law enforcement officers from 21 agencies across the state graduated today from basic training at the Kentucky Department of Criminal Justice Training.
The 26 officers of Class 453 completed 18 weeks of training, which consisted of nearly 770 hours of recruit-level-officer academy instruction. Major training areas included homeland security, law offenses and procedures, vehicle operations, firearms, investigations, first aid/CPR, patrol procedures, orientation for new law enforcement families and mechanics of arrest, restraint and control. 
Basic training is mandatory for Kentucky law enforcement officers who are required to comply with the state’s Peace Officer Professional Standards Act of 1998. The Department of Criminal Justice Training provides basic training for city and county police officers, sheriffs’ deputies, university police, airport police and others. 
The agency also provides in-service and leadership training for Kentucky law enforcement officers and public safety dispatch training.
The Department of Criminal Justice Training is a state agency located on Eastern Kentucky University’s campus. The agency is the first in the nation to be accredited under the Commission on Accreditation for Law Enforcement Agencies’ public safety training program designation. DOCJT also earned accredited through the International Association for Continuing Education and Training in 2013 – making it the nation’s only law enforcement training academy to achieve dual accreditation by two independent accrediting organizations.
Class 453* graduates and their agencies are:
Steven Alexander, Somerset Police Department
Joshua Beatty, Central City Police Department
Thomas Breitmeyer, Shively Police Department
Nathan T. Brown, Clark County Sheriff’s Office
Justin Browning, Madisonville Police Department
Donald Cain, Leitchfield Police Department
Christopher Cash, Bowling Green Police Department
Jason Eli Dennis, Munfordville Police Department
Justin Flannery, West Liberty Police Department
Bradley French, Princeton Police Department
Brandon Harvey, Logan County Sheriff’s Office
Tyler Hensley, Cumberland Police Department
Nathan L. Herron, Princeton Police Department
Jonathan H. Hughes, Maysville Police Department
Michael Langston, Henderson Police Department
Christopher Lauer II, Campbell County Police Department
Jack D. Leek, Hopkinsville Police Department
Brent A. Madding, Princeton Police Department
Christopher L. Nelson, Shively Police Department
Lucas Oliver, Henderson Police Department
James E. Pinkett, Guthrie Police Department
Matthew T. Royse, Cynthiana Police Department
Andrew Salmons, Somerset Police Department
Zachery Slone, Versailles Police Department
Brandon Smith, Somerset Police Department
Michael Wiehebrink, Jefferson County Sheriff’s Office